Home / About Zamfara State / Read about modern Zamfara

Read about modern Zamfara

Zamfara is one of the 36 states in Nigeria. Its in the north western Nigeria. Its capital is Gusau and its current Governor is Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Up Until 1996 zamfara area was part of Sokoto State. Zamfara is populated by Hausa and Fulani tribes.
Major groups of people are the “Zamfarawa” from Anka, Gummi, Bukkuyum and Talata Mafara Local Governments areas and are also scattered all over the state.

Gobirawa people are from Shinkafi Local Government. The “Gobirawa” actually migrated from the Gobir Kingdom. Burmawa are found in Bakura and Fulani people from Bungudu, Maradun, Gusau and are scattered all over the State.

In Tsafe, Bungudu and Maru Local Governments are found “Katsinawa, Garewawa and Hadejawa”. While Alibawa are found in Kaura Namoda and Zurmi.

Zamfara State is mainly populated by Hausa and Fulani people, with some members of Gwari, Kamuku, Kambari, Dukawa, Bussawa and Zabarma ethnic communities. Others include the Igbo, Yoruba, Kanuri, Nupe and Tiv.

People of Zamfara have over the years struggled to have state of their own, it was in the year 1996 that the then Military Administration of the Late General Sani Abacha detached Zamfara State from Sokoto State.

With an area of 38,418 square kilometres, it is bordered in the North by Niger republic, to the South by Kaduna State. In the east it is bordered by Katsina State and to the West by Sokoto and Niger States.

Agriculture is the most important occupation of the people of the state ever which every community proud of being a region of farming. This agricultural activities has been achieved from having a good soil which is good and suitable for farming and irrigation especially cereals and legumes crops like wise the availability of large areas that helps in cultivating a large acres land in the area hence its slogan “farming is our pride”. And also Home Of Shari’ah.

Zamfara state has a population of 3,278,873 according to the 2006 census and contains fourteen local government areas.

About IbrahimTuduBlog

Check Also

INSECURITY: Massive transfer of police from zamfara

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered massive transfer of police personnel in Zamfara State as part …

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar